IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk: Quick Answer
SBI Clerk pays more at the start and is slightly easier to qualify, while IBPS Clerk offers more seats across 11 banks. SBI's Junior Associate starts on a basic pay of Rs 26,730 (two advance increments for graduates) and has no sectional cut-off, whereas an IBPS Customer Service Associate starts on Rs 24,050 and must clear a cut-off in every section of both Prelims and Mains; IBPS has 11,663 indicative vacancies against SBI's 9,124.
All facts below are as of 31 Oct 2026 and come from the two official 2026 documents: the IBPS CRP CSA-XVI notification (01.08.2026) with its updated vacancy list of 29.09.2026, and the SBI Junior Associate advertisement CRPD/CR/2026-27/17. Dates come from the IBPS tentative calendar 2026-27 and SBI Careers.
Key takeaway: Both are clerical-cadre jobs with the same pay scale (Rs 24,050 to Rs 64,480), the same age band (20 to 28) and no interview. The real differences are the starting basic, the cut-off rules, the Mains length and the fact that SBI is one bank while IBPS allots you to one of 11 public sector banks.
IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk 2026: Comparison Table
| Point | IBPS Clerk 2026 (CRP CSA-XVI) | SBI Clerk 2026 (Junior Associate) |
|---|---|---|
| Post name | Customer Service Associate (CSA) | Junior Associate (Customer Support & Sales) |
| Recruiting body | IBPS, for participating public sector banks | State Bank of India (CRPD) |
| Banks | 11 participating banks (Union Bank of India: not reported) | SBI only |
| Vacancies | 11,663 indicative (updated 29.09.2026; 11,403 in the notification) | 9,124 (7,680 regular + 1,444 backlog) |
| Age limit | 20 to 28 years as on 01.08.2026 | 20 to 28 years as on 01.04.2026 |
| Qualification | Graduate on the day of registration, plus computer literacy | Graduate by 31.12.2026; final-year students may apply provisionally |
| Application fee | Rs 850; Rs 175 for SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM | Rs 750; nil for SC/ST/PwBD/XS/DXS |
| Apply for | One State/UT only | One State/UT only |
| Prelims cut-off | Must qualify in each of the 3 tests | No minimum in any test or in aggregate |
| Mains | 160 Q, 200 marks, 125 minutes | 190 Q, 200 marks, 2 hours 40 minutes |
| Mains cut-off | Minimum in each test and in total | Minimum aggregate only (5% relaxation for reserved categories) |
| Language test | LLPT, qualifying, before joining | LLPT, qualifying, only if the language was not studied in Class 10 or 12 |
| Final merit | Mains marks only | Mains marks only (plus 5 bonus marks for trained SBI apprentices) |
| Starting basic pay | Rs 24,050 | Rs 26,730 (Rs 24,050 + two advance increments) |
| Reserve / wait list | About 30% of vacancies, valid one year | Up to 50% of vacancies (State-category wise) |
| Transfer rule | As per allotted bank | No inter-state transfer before 5 years of service |
Detailed notes: IBPS Clerk eligibility 2026 and SBI Clerk eligibility 2026.
IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk Salary 2026
| Salary item | IBPS Clerk | SBI Clerk |
|---|---|---|
| Pay scale | Rs 24,050-1,340/3-28,070-1,650/3-33,020-2,000/4-41,020-2,340/7-57,400-4,400/1-61,800-2,680/1-64,480 | Same scale |
| Starting basic | Rs 24,050 | Rs 26,730 |
| Allowances | As per the rules of the allotted bank | DA and other allowances as per SBI rules |
| Starting emoluments stated in the notice | Not stated | About Rs 46,000 a month at a metro like Mumbai |
| Pension | As per bank rules | New Pension Scheme (defined contribution) |
The SBI advantage of Rs 2,680 in basic pay comes from the two advance increments SBI gives graduate recruits; it also pushes up DA, which is a percentage of basic. IBPS does not print a total-emoluments figure, so we do not invent one. Full breakdowns: IBPS Clerk salary 2026 and SBI Clerk salary 2026.
IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk Exam Pattern 2026
Prelims: identical structure, different cut-off rule
| Section | IBPS Clerk Prelims | SBI Clerk Prelims |
|---|---|---|
| English Language | 30 Q / 30 marks / 20 min | 30 Q / 30 marks / 20 min |
| Numerical Ability | 35 Q / 35 marks / 20 min | 35 Q / 35 marks / 20 min |
| Reasoning Ability | 35 Q / 35 marks / 20 min | 35 Q / 35 marks / 20 min |
| Total | 100 Q / 100 marks / 60 min | 100 Q / 100 marks / 60 min |
| Negative marking | 1/4 of the marks of the question | 1/4 of the marks of the question |
| Shortlisting for Mains | Sectional + category-wise cut-off | Aggregate merit, about 10 times the vacancies |
The papers look the same, but one weak section can end an IBPS attempt, while in SBI a strong Reasoning score can carry a weak English score.
Mains: IBPS is shorter and faster, SBI is longer
| Test | IBPS Clerk Mains | SBI Clerk Mains |
|---|---|---|
| General / Financial Awareness | 40 Q / 50 marks / 20 min | 50 Q / 50 marks / 35 min |
| General English | 40 Q / 40 marks / 35 min | 40 Q / 40 marks / 35 min |
| Quantitative Aptitude | 40 Q / 50 marks / 35 min | 50 Q / 50 marks / 45 min |
| Reasoning (SBI: with Computer Aptitude) | 40 Q / 60 marks / 35 min | 50 Q / 60 marks / 45 min |
| Total | 160 Q / 200 marks / 125 min | 190 Q / 200 marks / 160 min |
IBPS gives just 30 seconds per GA question, so fast recall of banking and current affairs matters more there. SBI adds Computer Aptitude inside the Reasoning test. Topic lists: IBPS Clerk syllabus and exam pattern and SBI Clerk syllabus and exam pattern.
IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk Exam Dates 2026
| Stage | IBPS Clerk (CSA-XVI) | SBI Clerk (JA 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Applications | 01.08.2026 to 21.08.2026 | 11.08.2026 to 31.08.2026 |
| Prelims | 10 and 11 October 2026 (IBPS calendar) | September 2026 (tentative, per advertisement) |
| Prelims result | November 2026 (per notification); not posted as of 31 Oct | Not posted on SBI Careers as of 31 Oct |
| Mains | 27 December 2026 (IBPS calendar, tentative) | November 2026 (tentative, per advertisement); exact date awaited |
Both bodies say these dates can change. Track updates on our IBPS Clerk hub and SBI Clerk hub, and see the SBI Clerk 2026 recruitment post.
Which Is Easier: IBPS Clerk or SBI Clerk?
- Cut-off rules favour SBI. No sectional minimum in Prelims or Mains makes SBI more forgiving for candidates with one weak subject.
- Seat count favours IBPS. 11,663 indicative posts across 11 banks against SBI's 9,124. Check your own State/UT row, because both exams are state-wise.
- Mains speed favours SBI. SBI gives 160 minutes for its Mains; IBPS gives 125 minutes with a 20-minute GA test.
- Competition is not published. Neither notice states applicant numbers, so any "SBI is tougher" claim is opinion. For past state-wise IBPS allotment scores, see IBPS Clerk cut-off 2026 (Expected).
IBPS Clerk or SBI Clerk: Which Should You Choose?
Write both if you can: the age band and Prelims syllabus are the same, and the fee is the only extra cost. If you must rank them, SBI is the better job on paper (higher basic, one large bank, published Rs 46,000 metro emoluments), while IBPS gives more chances and a later Mains on 27 December. Neither advertisement sets an attempt limit; age is the only cap (see bank exam attempt limits 2026). Officer-level aspirants can also read IBPS PO vs SBI PO.
IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk FAQs
Which has a higher salary, IBPS Clerk or SBI Clerk?
SBI Clerk. Both use the same Rs 24,050 to Rs 64,480 scale, but SBI starts graduates at Rs 26,730 basic (two advance increments), while IBPS lists a starting basic of Rs 24,050. SBI states starting emoluments of about Rs 46,000 a month in Mumbai.
Is there a sectional cut-off in SBI Clerk?
No. The SBI advertisement says no minimum qualifying marks are prescribed for individual tests in Prelims or Mains; Mains has only a minimum aggregate. IBPS Clerk has a cut-off in every test of both stages.
IBPS Clerk aur SBI Clerk mein kaun sa exam aasaan hai?
SBI Clerk thoda aasaan maana ja sakta hai kyunki usmein sectional cut-off nahi hai aur Mains ke liye 160 minute milte hain. IBPS Clerk mein har section clear karna padta hai aur Mains sirf 125 minute ka hai, lekin IBPS mein seats zyada hain (11,663 vs 9,124).
Can I apply for both IBPS Clerk and SBI Clerk?
Yes. They are separate recruitments with separate forms and fees. In each, you can apply for one State/UT only.
Kya SBI Clerk mein final year wale apply kar sakte hain?
Haan. SBI ke advertisement ke anusaar final year/semester ke students provisionally apply kar sakte hain, bas 31.12.2026 tak graduation pass ka proof dena hoga. IBPS Clerk mein registration ke din graduate hona zaroori hai.
Is there an interview in IBPS Clerk or SBI Clerk?
No. Selection in both is on Mains marks, followed by a qualifying local language test and document verification.
