IBPS PO Age Limit 2026: Quick Answer
As per the official IBPS CRP PO/MT-XVI notification, the IBPS PO age limit is 20 to 30 years as on 01.07.2026, so you must be born not earlier than 02.07.1996 and not later than 01.07.2006 (both dates inclusive). OBC (non-creamy layer) candidates get 3 years, SC/ST candidates 5 years and PwBD candidates 10 years of relaxation. You need a graduation degree in any discipline, and you must already be a graduate on the day you register.
Key takeaway: Unlike SBI PO, IBPS PO does not let final-year students apply. Your graduation result must be declared on or before 21.07.2026, and you must hold the mark sheet or degree when you register.
Official source: IBPS CRP PO/MT-XVI detailed notification (PDF) on ibps.in. Section letters below refer to this notification.
IBPS PO Eligibility 2026 at a Glance
| Criterion | Official requirement | Section |
|---|---|---|
| Nationality | Citizen of India, or a subject of Nepal or Bhutan, or an eligible Tibetan refugee or person of Indian origin (categories other than Indian citizens need a Government of India eligibility certificate) | B.I |
| Age (as on 01.07.2026) | 20 to 30 years | B.II |
| Date of birth | Not earlier than 02.07.1996 and not later than 01.07.2006 (both inclusive) | B.II |
| Qualification (as on 21.07.2026) | Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government | B.V |
| Final-year students | Not eligible: you must be a graduate on the day you register | B.V |
| Minimum marks | No minimum percentage is set; you only state your graduation percentage in the form | B.V |
| Application fee | ₹850 for all others; ₹175 for SC/ST/PwBD (GST included) | C |
| Vacancies (indicative) | 6,715 for 2027-28 (three banks have not reported yet) | Annexure I |
IBPS PO Age Limit 2026 and Date of Birth Range
| Category | Maximum age | Born on or after | Born on or before |
|---|---|---|---|
| General / EWS | 30 years | 02.07.1996 | 01.07.2006 |
| OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) | 33 years | 02.07.1993 | 01.07.2006 |
| SC / ST | 35 years | 02.07.1991 | 01.07.2006 |
| PwBD (General/EWS) | 40 years | 02.07.1986 | 01.07.2006 |
| PwBD (OBC) | 43 years | 02.07.1983 | 01.07.2006 |
| PwBD (SC/ST) | 45 years | 02.07.1981 | 01.07.2006 |
The General/EWS row is printed in the notification. The other rows apply the official relaxation to the same upper limit: each extra year of relaxation moves the earliest birth date back by one year. The PwBD (OBC) and PwBD (SC/ST) rows use the cumulative rule explained below.
IBPS PO Age Relaxation 2026 (Section B.II)
| Category | Relaxation in upper age limit |
|---|---|
| Scheduled Caste / Scheduled Tribe | 5 years |
| Other Backward Classes (Non-Creamy Layer) | 3 years |
| Persons With Benchmark Disabilities (RPwD Act, 2016) | 10 years |
| Ex-Servicemen and Commissioned Officers, including ECOs/SSCOs, with at least 5 years of military service, released on completion of assignment (including those due to complete it within one year of the last date, i.e. by 20.07.2027) other than by dismissal, misconduct, inefficiency, physical disability attributable to service or invalidment | 5 years |
Can IBPS PO age relaxation be combined?
Yes, but only in one way. The notification says the SC/ST/OBC relaxation is cumulative with only one of the other two categories (PwBD or Ex-Servicemen). So an OBC PwBD candidate gets 3 + 10 = 13 years, and an SC PwBD candidate gets 5 + 10 = 15 years. You cannot stack PwBD and Ex-Servicemen together on top of a caste relaxation.
Is there age relaxation for EWS in IBPS PO?
No. The notification states that the maximum age of 30 applies to both General and EWS candidates.
Ex-Servicemen in the officer cadre
Ex-Servicemen get the age relaxation shown above, but the notification is clear that there is no reservation for Ex-Servicemen in the Officers' cadre, so PO vacancies have no ESM quota.
IBPS PO Educational Qualification 2026 (Section B.V)
- A degree (graduation) in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government.
- You must hold a valid mark sheet or degree certificate showing you are a graduate on the day you register, and enter your graduation percentage while registering online.
- The final result must be declared on or before 21.07.2026, and you must prove this with a document from your university at the interview.
- The date of passing is the date on your mark sheet or provisional certificate. If the result was only posted online, an original certificate signed by the university giving the date of passing is used.
How IBPS calculates your graduation percentage
The notification asks you to enter the percentage to two decimals. It is total marks in all subjects of all semesters/years divided by the aggregate maximum marks (including honours, optional and additional subjects), multiplied by 100. Fractions are ignored, so 59.99% counts as less than 60%. If your university gives a CGPA/OGPA, convert it using the university's own rule and keep the conversion certificate for the interview.
IBPS PO 2026 Vacancies by Bank (Annexure I, Indicative)
| Bank | SC | ST | OBC | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | 285 | 142 | 513 | 190 | 770 | 1,900 |
| Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 165 | 82 | 297 | 110 | 446 | 1,100 |
| Canara Bank | 225 | 112 | 405 | 150 | 608 | 1,500 |
| Central Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Indian Overseas Bank | 84 | 41 | 148 | 54 | 223 | 550 |
| Punjab National Bank | 76 | 38 | 136 | 50 | 204 | 504 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 24 | 13 | 47 | 15 | 62 | 161 |
| Indian Bank, UCO Bank, Union Bank of India | NR | NR | NR | NR | NR | NR |
| Total | 1,009 | 502 | 1,816 | 669 | 2,719 | 6,715 |
NR = not reported. The notification calls these figures indicative; allotment is made against the vacancies the banks actually report, and some banks' figures may include backlog posts.
IBPS PO Application Fee 2026 (Section C)
| Category | Fee (inclusive of GST) |
|---|---|
| SC / ST / PwBD | ₹175 |
| All others | ₹850 |
The fee was payable online only, from 01.07.2026 to 21.07.2026. Bank transaction charges are borne by the candidate.
IBPS PO 2026 Selection Process (Linked to Eligibility)
| Stage | What it is | Marks |
|---|---|---|
| Preliminary | English 30 Q/30 M, Quantitative Aptitude 35 Q/30 M, Reasoning 35 Q/40 M; 20 minutes each | 100 (qualify in each test) |
| Main (objective) | Reasoning 40 Q/60 M, General/Economy/Banking/Digital/Financial Awareness 50 Q/60 M, English 40 Q/20 M, Data Analysis & Interpretation 40 Q/60 M; 160 minutes | 200 |
| Main (descriptive) | Essay and comprehension, 2 questions, 30 minutes | 25 |
| Personality Test | Self-report test; non-qualifying but compulsory to reach the interview | Not scored for merit |
| Interview | Minimum 40% (35% for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD) | 100 |
Negative marking is one-fourth (0.25) of the marks of a question in Prelims and Mains. The final merit uses Mains and interview in the ratio 80:20; Prelims marks are not counted. Full tables: IBPS PO exam pattern 2026.
How to Check Your IBPS PO Eligibility (Step-by-Step)
- Find your date of birth on your 10th certificate. Compare it with the range for your category above. If you were born on 02.07.1996 or 01.07.2006 you are inside the General/EWS limit, because both dates are inclusive.
- Work out your relaxation. Take your caste relaxation (if any) and add at most one of PwBD or Ex-Servicemen. An OBC PwBD candidate therefore gets 13 years.
- Check your graduation date. Your result must be declared on or before 21.07.2026 and you must already hold the mark sheet when you register. A final-year student whose result is still pending is not eligible.
- Calculate your percentage correctly. Use all subjects and all semesters, round down, and keep the CGPA conversion rule of your university if it applies.
- Keep category certificates current. OBC certificates must carry the non-creamy layer clause and be issued on or after 01.04.2026; EWS candidates need the Income & Asset Certificate valid for 2026-27 (based on FY 2025-26).
Example: is this candidate eligible?
Arjun is an SC graduate born on 10.03.1992 whose degree result came out in June 2026. The SC upper limit is 30 + 5 = 35 years, so he may be born as early as 02.07.1991 and no later than 01.07.2006. His date of birth, 10.03.1992, falls inside that range, and his result was declared before 21.07.2026, so he is eligible.
IBPS PO Eligibility: Common Mistakes
- Counting age on the form date. IBPS reckons age as on 01.07.2026, not on the day you apply.
- Applying as a final-year student. The SBI PO rule does not apply here; IBPS PO needs a declared result.
- Rounding the percentage up. 59.99% is treated as less than 60%.
- Expecting EWS age relaxation. EWS candidates have the same 30-year limit as General.
- Using an old OBC certificate. It must be issued on or after 01.04.2026 with the non-creamy layer clause.
IBPS PO Eligibility and Age Limit FAQs
What is the IBPS PO age limit in 2026?
20 to 30 years as on 01.07.2026, so you must be born between 02.07.1996 and 01.07.2006 (both dates inclusive).
What is the IBPS PO age limit for OBC and SC/ST?
33 years for OBC (non-creamy layer) and 35 years for SC/ST, after the official relaxation of 3 and 5 years.
Can final-year students apply for IBPS PO 2026?
No. You must be a graduate on the day you register, and your result must be declared on or before 21.07.2026.
Is there a minimum percentage required for IBPS PO?
No minimum is set in the notification. You only have to enter your graduation percentage, calculated as IBPS prescribes.
Is there a limit on the number of attempts in IBPS PO?
The CRP PO/MT-XVI notification does not set any limit on the number of attempts. Your age limit is the only cap.
What is the IBPS PO application fee for 2026?
₹850 for General, EWS and OBC candidates and ₹175 for SC/ST/PwBD candidates, both inclusive of GST.
Can Nepal or Bhutan citizens apply for IBPS PO?
Yes. Subjects of Nepal and Bhutan are eligible, but they need a certificate of eligibility issued by the Government of India.
Practice Next for IBPS PO
- Tests: IBPS PO 2025 Prelims Memory-Based Paper 23 August Shift 1, IBPS PO Reasoning Ability Sectional Mock Test 01 and IBPS PO Quantitative Aptitude Sectional Mock Test 01.
- Related notes: IBPS PO exam pattern 2026, IBPS PO salary 2026, SBI PO eligibility and age limit 2026 and puzzles for SBI PO.
- Free tools: exam eligibility checker and government salary calculator.
- Attempts: bank exam attempt limits 2026 (IBPS PO, SBI PO, RBI Grade B).
- Browse all study notes.
